Capacitor: one value on cap, different to board???

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by mcdes, Feb 15, 2012.

1. mcdes

mcdes Member of no importance

I have a new amp arriving next week, so I've got my ac30 taking a sabbatical....

So in the meantime, for work, as an electrician, I've been looking at power factor/capacitors Yada Yada.....

So to better get to know the basics, I'm changing the caps in my heritage vox ac30.

So I'm starting with the filter caps. They have Trec ones in there at the moment, and I've swapped for F&T. The old value was 47uF, and so I've put that back in. The schem seems to say this too, but on the circuit board itself, it says 10uF! Wha!!!

So do I follow like with like? Or CB??

I pulled open a Trec to see if it didn't have a different value inside, just incase! Ha, but it was all cap.

Also, does it matter if the outer casing touches another resistor beside it etc??

Any and all help is welcome!!

I just spent a week going through all pages in the info section!!! Good reading! Ha

2. eddy999

eddy999 Member

Go with the schematic, especially as the old value you had in there matches that. You've not mentioned the voltage handling of the cap - I assume you at least matched the handling of the old one.

As long as it's just the plastic/outer shell touching then that's most likely fine. Ideally you'd like a little gap in there in the case where the resistor is getting hot/dissipating a fair bit of power, but it's most likely not going to be a problem.

3. vibrostrat43

vibrostrat43 Supporting Member

Go with the schematic, I've heard of boards sometimes having misprints due to a company using extra ones from another model with the same layout, but somewhat different parts values.