carvin legacy vs bogner ecstacy

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by fernandopareta, Jul 20, 2006.

1. fernandopareta

fernandopareta Member

I know they are diferent, price but I think that their overdrive are similar What are your opinions?
    thanks

2. countandduke

countandduke Member

I've heard good and bad things about the Legacy. As with any mass produced amp, Carvin most likely skimps where they can. The inside of almost any Carvin amp I have seen was really messy. I have also heard a strange oscillation on some notes from the Legacy but for the price...........

Good luck, I would put my OD-100 SH/SE up against the Legacy and most any amp any day.....

Chris

3. bryan k

bryan k Member

i have used a carvin legacy (and still do) for about 5 -6 years now. Although i have no experience in Bogners, i will say this......

the amp was designined in conjunction with 'steve vai', who used Bogners before designing the legacy. So with that, it does have bogner qualities........but the legacy is voiced to sound like no other amp out there. It has that warm/creamy hot-rodded marshall sound (like a Bogner). its avery low-mid sounding amp.

4. carlygtr56

carlygtr56 Senior Member

I got a Legacy. It has some of the low-mid qualities of the Ecstasy. I also owned two 101-B\\\'s in the 90\\\'s.I had an opportunity to A/B an Ecstasy head with a Legacy combo at a local GC last year, using my Jem. I actually liked the Legacy. it was way easier to dial...great clean channel, decent reverb, etc.So much so, I went home and ordered the Legacy head!The Bogner has a bit more of the squishy sagging note attack, which is cool, but IMO not worth 3X the Legacy.The Legacy isnt my only head either. It hangs right inthere with my more expensive Peacemaker and Germino.

5. 83stratman

83stratman Member