Ce-2 Power Supply Issue

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by Shizean, May 18, 2015.

1. Shizean

Shizean Member

Hey guys, I've been reading a lot of forum information about the power issues regarding the Boss Ce-2 (MIJ). Though I understand some of it, a lot of what I see is technical jargon (to me, since I am a total electronics noob). So i'll explain my situation:

When daisy chained and with 9v power supply, the light signal is weak and I get a weird whistle sound through my amp. When hooked up with a 9v battery, everything is cool. Some people say that daisy chaining is the answer when using 9v supply, but for me is not the case.

The basic question I need answered is (in the best laymen terms possible): Can I just buy a 12 Volt DC adapter and use this? I see the old ACA-120 adapters going for like $50-$60. And I don't want to fry this thing modding it. As you know, I paid a pretty penny for it, and I'm a noob, which is why I don't want to mod it to make it 9v ready.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

2. stinkfoot

stinkfoot Member

Yes, you can use a 12vDC adapter. Center negative, of course, and even though the old ACA was unregulated, I'd still recommend a regulated adapter.

Shizean likes this.
  3. Shizean

Shizean Member

Thank you very much stinkfoot!

4. TheoDog

TheoDog Silver Supporting Member

What it is daisy chained with would be a factor with regard to the whine.

5. sbrollins76

sbrollins76 Supporting Member

I've got a MIJ CE-2 as well. You can use a center-negative 12V adapter. Outputs 1-4 on a PP2+ when switched away from normal will also power it just fine (this is how I ran mine). I've also heard that if it's daisy-chained off another Boss pedal with a 9V out, like a TU-2/3, it will work too though I haven't tried that personally.

Shizean likes this.
  6. LouRossi

LouRossi Member

Daisy changing works on some of my ACA Boss pedals others NOT so don't bother and just get an isolated supply...