Celestion Alnico Blue: what alternatives get the closest

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Derelict, May 16, 2006.

1. Derelict

Derelict Member

Yes, the alnico blue is a gift from the heavens. This is an amazing speaker, however at $250 and only 15 watt handling, they are just a bit out of my range. can anyone add to my small knowledge with experience?

red fang - from all the reviews, this speaker is supposed to be very, very close, but i've no personal experience. can anyone with such experience chime in?

weber blue dog (alnico, ceramic) - these seem like a great alternative, but i don't know much about them.

just how close to these speakers get?

thank you

2. waxnsteel

waxnsteel Member

I'm waiting for the Gold's to come out.

3. jokerjkny

jokerjkny Member

the fang's are a great bargain, and at higher gain / louder volumes have a cool raspy breakup that the blues dont have. give 'em a try, and even if you dont like 'em, i doubt you'd have a hard time finding a buyer for them.

4. Hipster Dofus

Hipster Dofus Member

I have played most of the Blue Clones, as well as originals, and RI's. I love the Weber 30w Blue Dog.

5. 908SSP

908SSP Supporting Member

That is why I don't think they sound like Blues. The Webers are better but still not Blue. Blues sound smooth and oh so sweet, like a flute or bells not harsh.

The Golds cost the same or more but if they sound as good as Blues they will be worth it for the peace of mind. Fanes Blues Alnicos are nice too but stiffer they are after all a 100 watt speaker.

:AOK

6. illinimax

illinimax Gold Supporting Member

The ceramic Weber Blue Dog is a great alternative. I prefer it to the Celestion. However, if you've got to have alnico the Webers come close but there's nothing quite like the Celestion Blue which surface for around $200 used pretty often if you're looking to save some $$$.

7. Stevo57

Stevo57 Supporting Member