Ceriatone: Planning to build??

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by Julia343, Oct 24, 2008.

1. Julia343

Julia343 Member

I'm either crazy or just a masochist. I'm actually considering building a Ceriatone kit. Yes, I know Nik can assemble one pretty cheaply and it's worth paying him. But what I'm wondering about is how hard is it to build these things? How easy is it to screw up building? How long do they take? I've never built a kit before so I'm figuring taking the time for an experienced builder and multiplying it by Pi. Is that enough or do I need another constant?

Given that I have a JVM, a 6505+, and a Fender, which kit?

Can I get a cab with the kit? Should I go 18W or go for the 1987? Or the Superlead100? Or the JTM 45?

Am I insane??:bong -- don't answer this.

2. bgood

bgood Member

Easy to do but easy to screw it up. If you can be very meticulous and plan ahead, it's not hard. I would start with a simple design though - like a Tweed Deluxe. I did my Deluxe in about 12 hours - it was my second build. It's fun.

3. Rod

Rod Tone is Paramount Silver Supporting Member

I definetely wouldn't start building a Wreck or Matchless circuit, or anything blackface with reverb.....start with a champ or deluxe

4. dk123123dk

dk123123dk Member

As much as I love Nik's amps, I don't think the kits come with any instructions or anything. So I'm not sure I would go with Ceriatone if it were my first build... But that depends on how much you know about amps, and wiring in general. For a little more money you can get a kit that comes with instructions, etc.

Then once you build a kit or two, you will be addicted, and can grab some of the Ceriatone stuff!

Good luck.

dk

5. Flux

Flux Member