1. A proposal is now up as a poll to change the guidelines of TGP to only allow member self-deleting of post/threads for up to thirty days of the original posting it. We are now watching the poll here. Click here to view the thread.

Dismiss Notice

Changing the output transformer? (Fender Bandmaster reverb)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by matt fuzz, May 16, 2011.

1. matt fuzz

matt fuzz Member

I have a fender bandmaster reverb 69. It has been tchek by a good tech. he changed the bias circuit to the blackface spec, put new power tubes etc etc. I also have the original 2x12 cabinet. I changed the speakers for 2 weber 12f150 8ohms 50w, wired in parallel.

so i was all psyched to play with this amp with my band. but i was so disappoint to hear that it was not loud enough... my other guitarist play a tele throught a blackface bandmaster 64 and he is almost twice louder than i am. ok maybe not 2x as loud as my BMR, but definetly louder! his BF BM 64 has been mod in the past to a 100w 4x6L6. he turned it back to the original 2x6L6, but kept the transfo he had when it was a 100w amp. that's why i consider upgrading to a bigger OT and hope it will provide me a bigger clean. i'm 99% sure it's not a mechanical problem.

now to achieve the sound i want (a good loud clean, just before the breakup) and to keep up with my guitarist and the band, i have to plug my guit throught the BMR and my hot rod deluxe.

i don't want to have to always use two amps. so i was thinking about changing the OT for a twin reverb OT. by doing this mod, would it bring my sound to a new sonic dimension? what i want is a big loud clean! will it be in the same range as the dual showman reverb/twin?