1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Changing Tubes and Speaker in a Deluxe Reverb

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by alderash, Jul 20, 2005.

1. alderash

alderash Guest

Hello,

I have a Deluxe Reverb and would like to upgrade the tubes and speaker; however, I've never done this before. How difficult is it to replace these parts?

As far as the tubes go, is it as simple as just pulling them straight out and pushing new ones in there, or is there a procedure? Same with the speaker — what is involved with replacing it (wiring, baffle, etc.)? Any precautions to take — short of unplugging the amp?

Thanks

2. Blue Strat

Blue Strat Member

Sterling, VA (not far from Washington DC)
    Both are the easiest mods a do-it-yourselfer can make to an amp.

The biggest issues are that the power tubes (6V6GTs) must be biased and you may have to solder speaker wires (if you don't have lugs on the speaker end, or they don't fit your new speaker terminals) onto your new speaker terminals. Some care is required as too much heat can destroy the internal speaker connections.

For biasing, check out www.webervst.com for a Bias Rite bias probe. This (and other similar products) allow you to bias your DR without pulling the chassis. There's a bias control (screw driver adjustment) underneath the chassis, in front of the transformers, near the power tubes.

3. slider313

slider313 Silver Supporting Member