Changing valves

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by shuffle, Oct 2, 2005.

1. shuffle

shuffle Member

Hi there -

My Power up valves need replacing. I have bought some new ones and decided i will give it ago myself. Dont know if my amp needs biasing but i'll soon find out.

Anyway i was wondering if someone can give me a fairly detailed description on how to change my valves. This is my first time.

Firstly - To take out my previous ones (some one said to me just pull them straight out - i tried and they seem pretty stuck)

Secondly - saftey procedures for putting in the new valves - is it true that i should not touch them with my skin at all???

Im urgently trying to fix this as i wanna play!!

Thanks!

2. rastaman

rastaman Member

-First, find out if amp needs to be biased for new tubes, some do and some don't.

-If bias=yes, take it to a tech if you are the LEAST bit unsure.

-If Bias=no, power down amp and unplug.

-Grab tube base and gently wiggle/rock side to side while pulling up. Take a look at the socket tab or spacing between the pins to make reinstallation a more accurate task. Sometimes it's hard for me to see the pin sockets so I get an idea while removing them.

-Install new tubes gently, I never force tubes. Sometimes I double check and triple check the orientation before I push them down.

-I've touched them w/ my skin a million times, just like incadescent light bulbs, it's not a quartz bulb. You can use cotten gloves for safety however.

-Before I turn on the power I double check that the amp is on standby, then position myself where I can see the new tubes but I'm not right in front of them. Then I turn the power on and watch them for a couple minutes then throw the standby off and observe for a couple more seconds and then JAM! :dude

3. shuffle

shuffle Member

Hey mate thanks for your help!

I went and changed them over now - i turned it on standby then powered up.