cheap, decent sounding chorus?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by lv, Mar 18, 2008.

1. lv

lv Supporting Member

I need a chorus pedal to add modulation to the repeats of my dd-2 that is in a wet only loop. Doesn't have to be anything fancy, just a nice sound and hopefully something relatively quiet. Open to used stuff, hoping to keep the price below $150, below $100 is even better.

Thanks

2. Red_Label

Red_Label Supporting Member

I've been using the Dano Cool Cat chorus at gigs for the past 8+ years. Just for clean parts. It's so nice and shimmery to my ears. I also use a Dano DaddyO overdrive and the DanEcho in my chain. For a while I felt a little silly running such inexpensive Dano effects between my PRS Customs and my H&K Triamp MkI. But they've worked! And even though I tried many other pedals, for the chorus the Dano has been my favorite. This is all about to change though, as I've got a Visual Sound Route 66 V2 on the way for comp/overdrive and will shortly have the Liquid Chorus Echo V2 on the way for chorus/delay. But for live sound, I still think the larger Dano pedals are decent (especially considering the price). I've been hauling around a reissue TS9 Tube Screamer for years as backup, but every time I put it on the board with the DaddyO, it gives me no reason to replace the DaddyO. The only reason I'm going with the Visual Sound to replace it is that I play a lot of country and need and compressor for my ASAT tele.

3. TimH

TimH Member

Arion SCH-Z...best $35 I've ever spent.

4. Sandro

Sandro Member

Arion SCH-1 or Boss CE-2

5. dave s

dave s Member

may not be the cheapest of the lot, but you can't go wrong with a Boss CH-1. Probably $75 used.

dave

6. kiki_90291

kiki_90291 Member

Ibanez BCL. The black one - not the Bi-Mode Chorus, which is a bit more expensive (but I think it's actualy the same circuit). You can get them pretty reasonably on eBay

7. joshrum

joshrum Member