Cheap Metal pedal?

Mike Thomas

Hey I'm a singer/songwriter frontman for a new Alt Rock/Indie Rock project. The drummer that I just started playing with hits like a tank. I've been able to get by using an Xotic SL drive with the internal trim set to the max gain setting for most of the distorted songs we are playing.

However with my new heavy hitting drummer expressing that he'd like to start adding a few more heavier songs into the mix, I need some ideas please.

I recently dusted off some older crunchy,stoner rock,sludgy drop D tuning songs of mine. Believe it or not the XL drive still does ok,but I think I would get a much better tone for these songs If I were to go with something distortion based instead of overdrive. The plexi sound of the XL is nice but I;m thinking more like a mesa rectifier tone.

That being said, since its not my #1 priority sound and will probably be used for just a couple of songs in our set I was thinking of just going cheap by grabbing one of those cheap true bypass made in China pedals like the Joyo Xtreme metal,Joyo high gain,or Joyo pocket metal? Or something else along those lines. It doesn't have to be joyo. I have heard ok things about the EH pocket metal muff?

Any opinions when it comes to high gain pedals on the cheap with a true bypass switch for around $40 to $60?

I recently sold something for that much on Ebay so I was trying to get into something for Zero out of pocket. I know I could spend a few hundred to get something really nice like the Wampler triple threat or even the Xact atomic overdrive is cool and probably would have more definition. But, I have plenty of Od's that already do that I just want something cheap and kind of close to a duel and triple rec sound in a cheap pedal that doesn't sound too buzzy like the old Metal Zone I remember having when I was like 12.

King Rat

if you can get the mxr fullbore metal for that price second hand that may be your ticket.

a cheap rat would do it.