cheap rockabilly guitar?

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Bruvtilov, Jan 20, 2008.

1. Bruvtilov

Bruvtilov Member

Hello everybody,

I've been asked to join a Rockabilly/Rock 'n' Roll group. I've been playing professionally for a couple of years now, but there's no semi-hollow in my collection yet. I think I can get away by using a Tele, but it's nice to look the part too with a semi-hollow. Plus, it's an excuse to buy a new guitar!

I was thinking maybe a cheap Ibanez Artcore with a Bigsby and pickup upgrade? A while ago I played some budget Gretsches in a shop but most of the hardware was plastic and they felt really cheap.

Suggestions?

Thanks,

Robert

2. gtrshow

gtrshow Member

Maybe the newer "budget" Gretsches use cheaper components, but I really liked the Historic Series that I owned. Really nice guitar for the $.

3. Number8

Number8 Member

Do the Gretsch thing. ;)

4. Lawn Jockey

Lawn Jockey Member

Did you look at the Gretsch G512X series? The only thing suspect on those would be the tuners, and they actually aren't that bad.

What says cheap Rockabilly more boldly than this?

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Good luck with the hunt.

5. rdnzl

rdnzl Member

Use the Telecaster. You'll be fine.

6. brentrocks

brentrocks Guitar Hack/Player Gold Supporting Member

how about a G&L asat special...good guitar, low price

7. wingwalker

wingwalker Fuzzy Guitars

I would say that you;d be just fine with a Tele but since you want a new axe I'll tell ya this...nothing is more Rockabilly than a Gretsch and not much out there is cheaper than the new Electromatic stuff from Gretsch...it's a win win!

8. Jon C

Jon C Silver Supporting Member

Gretsch Electromatic 5120 if you want a Bigsby guit... super values & quality ~$500

9. Drew68

Drew68 Supporting Member