Cheapo .... and question

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by indytruckboy, Oct 6, 2008.

1. indytruckboy

indytruckboy Member

So, if some of you don't know, I work for a trash company. Don't laugh:nono, I am a heavy diesel tech for a $9billion dollar company. And my pay and benefits reflect that.

ANYWAY... Me and a slinger have a gentleman's deal. You find some type of musical instrument (you would be surprised what people throw away), no matter what it is, bring it to me. I got cash.

So he calls me on the radio and says he has a guitar. :dude I get my hopes up. He gets back to the yard. The bag is spotless. Open it up.........

$100 Behringer strat copy. :cry: I give him $10 and he is happy. I bring the sucker home. It is pretty much new condition. I suppose a kid played Guitar Hero, thought it was easy, and had wise parents that got a cheapy to shut him up long enough for him to realize it's gonna take some work.

I can definitely tell through the paint it's plywood. The neck isn't to bad I suppose. I thought about restringing and keeping it hung up in the toolbox as a beater for work.

What do you think I should do with it? Throw some cheap but decent pups in it and leave it lay around? Smash it at one of my bands metalcore shows? Install some type of effect pedal in it?

Let me hear what you got. Nothing off the wall will suprise me.

*****NOTE*****
    the author knows this is a piece of poop guitar and has various top shelf guitars already

2. jaycee

jaycee Member

If you can get away with playing it at work, by all means. I wish i could. Other than that i wouldn't put a cent into it besides new strings. Either play it at work or hang it up in your basement or something.

3. enocaster

enocaster Member

Give it to a poor kid who loves music.

4. indytruckboy

indytruckboy Member

Both great posts.

I thought about maybe finding some 'name' pups on ebay or craigslist for cheap. Who knows? Maybe the pups are 'liveable'.