"Chop" Building?

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by P-Bird, Jul 23, 2004.

1. P-Bird

P-Bird Guest

Hey guys, Im new here, Seems like a pretty cool place..

So could i ask you all how do you guys go about Building your "chops"? For improving your improv and soloing..

Thanks alot for replies??

2. lhallam

lhallam Member

Check this out:

http://www.sheetsofsound.net

Then read what has been said about Jzuckers book "Sheets of Sound" in this area as well as in SoundHound. Check out what his 14 yr accomplished in one year. Listen to Ed DeGenaro's clips of some of the exercises from the book.

3. Genghis

Genghis Member

I'm fairly new here myself, and one of the first things I did when I started reading some of the posts here is get Sheets of Sound (as recommended by the previous reply). It is everything they say it is and more. It's definitely snapped me out of a rut and I'm barely getting started with it. I've been playing for over 25 years and I wish I would have had something like this when I was just starting to really get into playing. It's the most complete and solid book on chops-building I have ever seen.

4. P-Bird

P-Bird Guest

Wow thanks guys..

That book looks pretty good...i havent got around to the sound clips yet though but thanks...

5. Tag

Tag Gold Supporting Member