Chord progressions with more than Open/Power Chords

tomsy49

I have been playing for many years and have basic theory knowledge but i am really struggling at creating chord progressions that don't just use open chords or power chords. What are some techniques, videos or courses that have helped you in creating interesting chord progressions. Any help would be appreciated! Thanks!

Flyin' Brian

Can you play a simple diatonic scale using triads? Start with that, then add the fourth note.

1-3-5-7

Doing that; build major 7 chords, dominant 7 chords, minor 7 chords. You can get to the altered chords later.
Go up the fingerboard for the different inversions and using string groups 6-4-3-2, 5-4-3-2, 4-3-2-1

Don't use anything with open strings and don't have more than one of each note in the form.

For instance people often play a first position C7 C-E-Bb-C. Great but you have no 5 and you have 2 roots. So using string group 6-4-3-2 you'd play G-E-Bb-C. Using string group 5-4-3-2 you'd have C-G-Bb-E. Using string group 4-3-2-1 you'd have E-Bb-C-G.

Now go back and play the same thing with a natural 7 and you have major 7th chords.

Go back to the original 7th chord and flat all the thirds and you have minor 7ths.

Some of these forms will be unplayable as chords but you can use arpeggios.

Now do it all the way up to the 12th fret.

Now do it in all keys.

:)

Last edited:

tomsy49

Can you play a simple diatonic scale using triads? Start with that, then add the fourth note.

1-3-5-7

Doing that; build major 7 chords, dominant 7 chords, minor 7 chords. You can get to the altered chords later.
Go up the fingerboard for the different inversions and using string groups 6-4-3-2, 5-4-3-2, 4-3-2-1

Don't use anything with open strings and don't have more than one of each note in the form.