clean boost?

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by guidedbyechoes, Jul 31, 2005.

1. guidedbyechoes

guidedbyechoes Member

Ok I'm a first time poster, so here goes...

First off I'm a poor college student that is building a rig, I have this tube amp called the Carvin MTS, I love the tones I get from it but I want a little more gain. I have high gain tubes in it and I own the standard sd-1. The sd-1 is a nice pedal but it colors the tone and you know how annoying it is to get your perfect tone then have to re-adjust. Also its kind of annoying to have to switch it off when I go to the clean channel. So I was thinking clean boost since my amp in non master volume it would just make the clean a little louder and more gain on the lead channel. I'm trying to keep it under 100 usd, used is no problem at all.

2. drummondrs

drummondrs Member

Xotic RC is around a hundred give or take $40. Or a Keeley Katana Boost, Dod Bi-Fet PreAmp.

3. drummondrs

drummondrs Member

Another GG convert. Welcome to the boards.

4. guidedbyechoes

guidedbyechoes Member

Not really a convert but I'm expanding, no one person can have all the answers, neither can one forum. Sweepicker showed me this site seems to be a valuable resource.

5. tonedaddy

tonedaddy Member

I am here as you are here as you are me and we are
    Sounds like that will work for you. Know anyone that has a clean boost you can borrow, or can you take you amp to a store that has one to test out how it works?

If you can't do that, then whatever you get, I'd be patient and wait until you find one used at the right price. If it doesn't work for you, you won't lose any money reselling it.

You might look for an early Fulltone Fat Boosts, I've seen them sell for $100. Also, the Sweet Sound Booster doesn't come up for sale often, but they usually go for < $100. Both are good quality, and have worked for me.

6. guidedbyechoes

guidedbyechoes Member