Comments on National Guitar Workshop??

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by glendrix, Feb 28, 2006.

1. glendrix

glendrix Member

Last few years I have been contemplating attending NGW, one of their week long lessons and might just make the move this year. Since I live in Texas just looked at the Austin one since I could drive there. Apparently they have the Blues Summit going on there. I dig Matt Smith and saw he was instructor for one session. Also have a jazz blues focusing on Grant Green and Kenny Burrell. Anybody here ever gone?

One thing, are most of the students kids, teenagers? I have been playing in bands for several years (ain't no spring chicken) and very comfortable playing the blues but I do not have the Jazz blues thang in the bag. I could use a week long infusion of Burrell, Green into my playing for sure. I like the idea of playing geetar for a week straight but for that kinda cash, I need to make sure it will be challenging and not just jamming on blues in "E" for a week with guys just starting out. Nothing wrong with that but not cost effective for me.

So before I drop some significant cash, wanted to see if anyone here has attended on of their sessions and was it worth the cost of admission? Experiences? Opinions? Thanks!

2. UnderTheGroove

UnderTheGroove Supporting Member

I've been an instructor at the L.A. campus for a few years. I'll let others comment on whether it is worth it, but I will say that we have a lot of students return from year to year. As for age range: In L.A., it's about 80% teens and 20% adults. L.A. is the rock campus, so that range probably varies from place to place.

3. TonyV

TonyV Member

I have attended the CT campus eight times. I have taken the Jazz I Major and attended Summits and Seminars for Jazz, Blues, Rockabilly, Slide, R&B.
    It definately helped me grow as a player. A week there will give you stuff to keep you busy til the next year.