complete noob question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by dkals, Jan 4, 2008.

1. dkals

dkals Member

I was checking out a Palomino 32V based on what I have read on this forum. Being a noob I was comparing it to a VOX 50 watt amp.

On the VOX I could turn it way down and still get a good sound from the speaker. Is there a way on the Palomino to get a good sound at a low volume? This is strictly going to be used for playing in the house. Should I consider the Palomino V16. My feeling is that I will want a tube amp in the future so maybe I should get the Palomino and skip all of the toys that come associated with the vox.

2. NortheastHick

NortheastHick Supporting Member

The crate is a great choice...all the way down to the v8...I already have too many low wattage amps, or i would buy a palomino...great bang for the buck too....BTW, even the v8 is LOUD when cranked!

3. popsongsmith

popsongsmith Senior Member

I've owned both the 16 and the 32. The difference is the clean "channel", and I put channel in quotes because it's not technically a different channel, but a variation on the the dirty channel (actually, the other way around, so strike that and reverse it).

The clean channel on the 32 is voiced to sound like a fender, and it does a pretty damn good job of it. Otherwise, they are very similar, with obviously slightly more clean headroom and volume, and a fuller sound due to the larger cabinet, out of the 32.

The 32 is a very loud amp, and there's not much room in that clean channel for bedroom levels. Literally, its too loud even before you get to 1. That's why I would recommend the 16 for bedroom levels. It can also keep up with a drummer, just not with the same degree of clean headroom as the 32.