Compressor: necessity for shows?

zeffbeff

I'm doing a short tour with my group this year. In the interest of efficiency, I'm taking my Boss three-pedal board: TU-2, DS-1, and DM-2w.

I always play live with my DynaComp and Strat, but this time I'll have humbuckers in my guitar.

Any serious problems when not using a compressor live? It's been a while since I've played live without one.

rollyfoster

Silver Supporting Member
That's really gonna depend on your rig, how you use a compressor, and how used you are to having a compressor.

Nota

I am new to compressors, never saw the use or need. Recently I've been using them to smooth out dynamics, learning about the different types.

I'm a very dynamic player, but noticed that in the chaos of live playing my loud/solo passages were heard fine, but everything else was lost. It was too much range. With a compressor (I use my GC-2 more as a limiter) the range between quiet/loud is much less, so everything I play can be heard - while still retaining my dynamic playing and nuance. For me, this is now indispensable. I find myself not turning my amp up/down all the time, my level is set easily and stays that way.

songtalk

I can't really imagine life without my compact tone press. Like seriously. I have no idea what that thing does but it's like having a 1300 dollar rack unit at your feet live.

Black_Label

Silver Supporting Member
I don't think you ever really need a compressor except maybe in the studio. Of the 4 pedals you listed, the comp is definitely the one you'll miss the least.

ogguitar