• New Sponsor: ShipNerd, Ship Your Gear with Us... for less! Click Here.

Compressor pedals

p81

I'm a newbie so take it easy on me...lol

Are compressor pedals worth buying? I see people say they only make a subtle difference. Do you get much difference in tone or is it mainly just volume control?

I'm big into playing reggae rhythm and I like guitar fills of many different genres so is this a quality pedal?

What are the best compressor pedals out there?

charley

Gold Supporting Member
A compressor is a wonderful tool to have. It can be as subtle as you want it to be. I find that subtle compression really brings my tone into focus, similar to a good EQ pedal. If you use compression and an EQ pedal, you can really control the nuances of your tone, and always dial your tone in to fir whatever room you are playing in.

If you are mainly an at home player, who doesn't play with others or record, a comp may not be necessary. General amp EQ should work fine for that.