• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Condensation - effect on an amp?

burning blue

Hi guys

I would love a hand with this and any heads up or recommendations on what I should do.

I could be completely wrong here. After moving to a new place in Sydney with a nice little studio in the front of the house I wasn't aware of how cold and damp it would be.

I have a Laney VC30 210 all valve which I started playing when a ticking noise started. I figured it was probably just bad tubes (they had only just been replaced). It persisted for about 6 months until one day, a day after wiping it clean with a moist cloth (definitely not wet, no water would have gotten into the cabinet), I switched it on and it konked out. The standby light still works but the amp makes no sound.

I figured as it was old it was probably time for a replacement so recently I bought a second hand Mesa Boogie rocket. I've had it for about a fortnight. When I switched it on tonight much more quietly the same ticking noise kicked off.

I'm freaking out a fair bit because it's a lovely amp and I'd hate any harm to come to it. Could the damp, cold room be destroying my amps? If so how can I deal with it as the whole place feels pretty damp and condensation builds on the windows in every room.