Confession time

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Mr. Bertha, Sep 19, 2017.

1. Mr. Bertha

Mr. Bertha Member

I don't remember the last time I polished any of my guitars. It's easily been a decade. Frets get polished and fretboard gets cleaned/moisturized with semi-annual setups, but the body and neck pretty much never get cleaned...at most I'll wipe down the neck with a kitchen towel after a sweaty gig or jam session, but that's it. My name is Mr. Bertha and I'm a bad guitar-parent.

Dashface likes this.
  2. SecondFloorTones

SecondFloorTones Member

You're parent of the year compared to me. Since I started playing in 1988 I've done it exactly zero times. Hang on, I wiped the back of the neck on my LP Classic until it stopped being sticky. That was around 2005.

You're doing great.

3. bluesoul

bluesoul Gold Supporting Member

I think you are doing great too! I am in that camp as well...safety in numbers man!

Mr. Bertha likes this.
  4. Russ73

Russ73 Member

OP I don't do anything either, I wipe the sweat off the guitar after a gig or jam like you but otherwise nothing....

Mr. Bertha likes this.
  5. stonem

stonem Member

I clean mine every time I change the strings. I'm meticulous about it.

Mr. Bertha likes this.
  6. cap10kirk

cap10kirk Member

I don't do anything. I polish frets when I do a refret or a level and crown, other than that I don't polish them. I never wipe my guitars down or clean them either, not even after a gig, I'd rather spend my time playing my guitars than polishing them.

Mr. Bertha likes this.
  7. chillybilly

chillybilly Member

Confession: I like the way relics look
    Additional confession: I have a foot in both camps....relic/anti-relic
    Additional confession: If I want a worn guitar that ISN'T relic'd then meticulous cleaning is an impediment to that wear

I'll clean surfaces after a sweaty night but I make no effort to keep a guitar pristine.

8. russiancrowe

russiancrowe Member