Constantly Learning The Same Lesson Again...

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by dsmc80, Dec 23, 2009.

1. dsmc80

dsmc80 Member

I love my amps, guitars and a few choice pedals. They sound great and they give me the tones I want. However, every couple of months I start GASing for pedals based on some crazy hype I read around the net. I end up buying a bunch and adding them all to my board. Then I waste time screwing around with them instead of just playing. Eventually, I realize that I've gone through this before and I rip all of the useless pedals off of my board.

I'm not a professional musician. I'm a professional computer engineer who loves to play guitar and record music. I don't need 100 pedals (even though my stock pile is now up to ~40). Does anyone else go through this?...Where you realize that all of the gear choices sometimes gets in the way of you just playing and having fun? Alright, rant off. :facepalm

2. guitbeef

guitbeef Member

Yeah, I've gone through that. Sometimes I'm down on myself for getting wrapped up in that, but then I realize that some of my "keepers" came from those buying phases. So some good can definitely come of it. I try to have a balance these days- I know what works for me too, but I still check something new out once in while. I just don't "swing for the fences" anymore with trying to replace everything at once.

3. Flyin' Brian

Flyin' Brian Member

Absolutely. Although I have a small board with very few pedal and love the sound of it, there's something quite liberating about taking a guitar, cord and amp to a gig. It's also much more musically challenging for me.

4. stratovarius

stratovarius Supporting Member

Isn't contantly learning the same thing usually referred to as 'not learning'? :D

5. jaimo

jaimo Member

Pro's, semi-pro's and hobbiests all go thru this at one time or constantly.