Contemplating a 5e3

seth3

So, I'm a long-time Pro Junior user, and I'm thinking about trying a 5e3. You know: just 'cuz.

The problem, of course, is that the 5e3's are like five times as much as the PJ. Part of the thing is that I'm trying to minimize pedals, and I've heard that 5e3's don't need reverb.

Anyway—any thoughts? Contentment vs curiosity...

Also, has anyone ever ab'd any of the kits (Mission, especially) vs the big 5e3 names (Tungsten, Victoria, etc.). I think that the only way I could swing the 5e3 switch, financially, is to build my own.

Dale

I love my 5e3. Whether it needs reverb or not is a personal preference. It is a lot louder to get grind than one be lead to think reading TGP.

seth3

Thanks Dale—yeah, I always take that "no headroom" thing with a grain of salt. My PJ, which also has "no headroom" is totally clean in any bearable setting, decibel-wise. My Honey Bee gives me warm, slightly dirty sounds when needed.

lostpoet2

Silver Supporting Member
There is a Mission 5e3 build in the emporium right now for $750 which would be worth considering.

Dale

There are a number of great builders as noted. I like my Sara Richter verson.

louiscyfer

5e3's are great. i have an original one, i love it. it doesn't have a whole lot of headroom, but using an nos rectifier makes it better, the voltage is too high on the new ones, and a 12au7 in the preamp also gives you more headroom.

MrGibson

I have a Fender 5E3 and a Blues Jr (Master Vol and Reverb). These amps are very different. It’s almost impossible to dial in any tone and get an identical match. It’s not about the cab or the speaker (both have similar Jensens) – it’s all about the amp circuits that are completely different.