Controversial Opinion: Bluguitar Amp1 doesn't sound as good as a tube amp

I know this might rattle the cage of some bluguitar Amp1 fans. I just got my Amp1 Mercury last week and really put it through it's paces. I've had a number of nic Mesas, Fenders, Marshalls etc and I have an H&K Grandmaster 40 that I have retubed with TAD tubes and sounds gorgeous. The Amp1 has some great tones in it, and the heavier rock and distortion tones kick butt. For me though, with the lower gain crunch and clean tones, no matter the settings, there were unpleasant high end harmonics and frequencies I couldn't dial out. Yes I could hit it with an eq, but sometimes I want to go right into the amp and that made it unpleasant. The feel of the amp really detracted from my playing experience. I did like the immediacy of the tone compared to modelers but it felt compressed and missing some high and low end harmonic dynamic. Hard to describe and maybe I'm making it up, but I did feel it noticeably going back and forth.

Has anyone else had similar experiences or am I crazy?

Yeah I am not a tube purist, I can get along with HX stomp or helix and axe fx, but the cleans and light crunch just didn't have the same bloom. I wasn't even trying to match tones, just get something that felt good.

LordByron

The Dude abides!
I've got a number of Marshall and Marshall-type tube amps (3rd Power Kitchen Sink, Freidman Dirty Shirley, Friedman Runt 20, Marshall '71 Super Bass, Marshall Studio 20), not to mention numerous modelers (Helix, Kemper, Atomic). I have not found anything objectionable or markedly inferior to my tube Mashall circuits or in comparison to any of the various modelers.

Maybe it's how I run the Amp1, maybe I've got a tin ear.

Either way, I'm perfectly satisfied with mine and its tones.

Obviously, YMMV.