Converting Traynor YCV40 to YCV50BLUE?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by ArthurS, Jun 26, 2005.

1. ArthurS

ArthurS Member

Hi,

I was wondering if anyone knows if it's possible to convert a Traynor YCV40 to an YCV50BLUE, and if so, how hard that would be? I already have an YCV40, but I like the tone of the EL34-powered 50 more. They are pretty much impossible to get over here, though, and as a mere college student I'd financially prefer it if I could simply mod the 40.

The YCV50 is based on the 40 and the schematics (YCV40 here, YCV50 here) look very similar with only minor differences, but I'm not an expert, so I'd really appreciate it if someone more knowledgeable could chime in.

Thanks!

2. TheAmpNerd

TheAmpNerd Member

The good news is they use the same power and output trannsformers. Just perusing the two, you are in luck.
    Print both layouts, schematics, parts lists and identify what is different between the two amps.

Make a list of what it is and where it is, then post it here.
    I don't think anyone will do your leg work for you.

But that will be a good start.

Also, how good are you with electronicss, soldering,
    desoldering on circuit boards? If not, better to send
    it to a tech over there and have them do the work.

Good luck and keep us informed.

3. ArthurS

ArthurS Member

Thanks for the reply! I will start comparing the two and post back here, no need for anyone to do the leg work for me ;)

I'm reasonably good with soldering; I have done some work on pedals and have fixed an uncle's TV once. I have never opened the amp though, because as I understand, you have to drain capacitors first or risk being electrocuted?

Anyway, I first want to find out what mods need to be done, then I'll decide if I'll have a shot myself or have someone else do it for me. Thanks again!

4. David-R

David-R Supporting Member