1. The Rules have been updated regarding posting as a business on TGP. Thread with details here: Thread Here
    Dismiss Notice

Country fried chickin' pickin' compressor needed

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by RichSZ, Nov 15, 2005.

1. RichSZ

RichSZ Member

I am new to country pickin', but recently landed a gig as the 2nd guitar player in a full fledged old school country band.

One thing not in my favor is I don't own a Tele but I do have an EJ strat and an R9. I mainly have played the strat with the bridge + middle pickup position selected but notice some of the notes not being "even". Just for reference, I'm also using a D13 FTR 37 amp.

What exactly is a compressor is supposed to do? Even everything out? Or give you that sharp "click-a-click-a" type sound?

Which leads to the next question, should I just go with the Keeley Compressor or would the MXR SuperComp or DynaComp do the trick?

I'm really looking for that Nashville sound. So far, just based on nothing more than product descriptions, I'm leaning towards the SuperComp but I'd like to hear opinions on other options.

Thanks,

Rich

2. Fernando

Fernando Member

With a compressor, you can set the volume range of your tone. If a note reaches a volume outside of the range you set, the compressor will either increase or decrease it to put it back in the range.

It will even everything out and it will give you that "click-a click-a" type of tone you mentioned, with the right setting.

I have a Barber Tone Press, which is an incredible compressor, and fairly cheap too.

3. Texsunburst59

Texsunburst59 Member