Couple of Issues with My New ES-339

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Taylor 339, Feb 23, 2009.

1. Taylor 339

Taylor 339 Member

Hey guys,

First post but I have been lurking for a while trying to get educated so go easy on me. First let me say that I recently started playing again, taking lessons, etc. so I'm not a pro. Picked up a Taylor accoustic/electric for Christmas and it wasn't long before I was GASing for an electric. After some research here and other places, I picked up a new ES-339 (Vintage Burst) 30/60 neck today. It was still in the sealed Gibson box.

Good News: The finish looks outstanding. No flaws that I can find. Sounds great. Just what I expected from what I have read here.

Bad News: After I got it home I noticed one of tone knobs is very loose. So loose, it almost falls off by itself. Secondly, when I unplugged it, the nut around the input jack was a little loose. I tightened it with my fingers but I don't know if it will stay tight.

I called the sales guy and alerted him about what I found. I'm taking it back tomorrow for him to take a look. On Wednesday, I have a fellow church member who is an accomplished player and currently owns an expensive custom made to give it the once over.

Is it possible that it's just a bad knob and can be replaced or could the post be the problem? I was surprised that it's only held on with friction and not a set screw of anything.

And what about the jack issue?

I really hope these are minor issues that can easily be fixed because I really want to keep this one since the finish is perfect. I was set on the Caramel Burst, but seeing the Vintage in person, I changed my mind.

Thanks for your input. Looking forward to being a part of the community.

Last edited: Feb 23, 2009
  2. Bluesjam

Bluesjam Member

All of those can be fixed, keep up the faith.

3. magnido45

magnido45 Member

Perhaps the tone knob just needs to be pushed further into the post?