Cover band guitar rigs

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by medwards1969, Feb 10, 2015.

1. medwards1969

medwards1969 Member

For you experienced musicians who have spent quite a few years playing live in successful cover bands, what are the elements of your rig that have proven to be important to help you to do a good job to cover a wide variety of pop songs? Is it particular pedals, and/or possibly particular combinations of guitars, pickups, pedals, or amp types, etc. ? What are the key elements of a successful cover band setup? (besides chops and a good voice!) :)

Thanks in advance. Mark

2. C-4

C-4 Member

Here for now, Europe when I die. Am I dead yet?
    I have been playing in bands since 1957. I change up my gear based on the needs required for the work I am hired to do.
    Right now, I am in a commercial cover band playing 60's, 70's and 80's blues, rock and dance music.

I use either a Diezel Einstein 50 watt combo, or a Marshall JMD-1 50 H head through a Marshall 1912 bottom, mic'd with a front-end only p-board. The Marshall has onboard effects, but when using the Diezel, I have a TC Nova System in the loop for time-based effects.

In a couple of months, I will be updating to a new amp, new speaker cab, and hopefully, by years' end, an Eventide H9 and more next year. I was going to try a Kemper or AXE-FX, but after reading about them, I'd rather do my own thing.

My current front-end board is tuner>volume pedal>Vox wah> Empress compresssor> Tim> Simble>Palmetto Boost> buffer to amp input. It's nice to switch between saturated amp tones, saturated pedals or a mixture of both.

I use for guitars, an XOX Handle with a blend control and 2 mini toggles which go separately to each pickup doing series/parallel/single coil wiring, Tele, and Vigier S-type. I mostly play the Handles as they are more then versatile enough, and they only weigh 5 pounds.