Cracked open my Vibro Champ and saw this....

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by zestystrat, May 29, 2015.

1. zestystrat

zestystrat Member

So to start, I bought this amp YEARS ago - not knowing anything about Fender amps other than it was the Layla amp. In all the years I've had it I never opened it up or anything.

Also - I'm a noob when it comes to fixing my amps. I don't solder, I don't try to take them apart....I have an excellent tech and I take my gear to him.

But....I don't play the VC often and when I recently fired it up, my '76 VC was sounding a bit raspy and I was not loving what I was hearing. I've run this guy thru my 4ohm 2x12 for fun and it sounded great so I thought it was a speaker issue.

A speaker change on a VC isn't that hard to do....pull the tubes, maybe the chassis, loosen the nuts and replace.

So, I pull the tubes, loosen the nuts on the speaker....can't get it out.

[​IMG]

Okay I have to pull the chassis, again noob here but how hard could it be? I open her up and get her ready and it looks like the previous owner might have modded it...and I have caps the have to go.

So any idea what this person was looking to do:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Also, good to know my ears aren't totally shot:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

2. Silent Sound

Silent Sound Member

It looks like he replaced that tube socket. The old one may have cracked or something. It looks like you could use a cap job though. If you're worried that it could have been modded, have the tech check it out when he/she replaces those old electrolytics.

And yeah, that speaker's seen better days too.

3. Steppin' Wolfe

Steppin' Wolfe Member

+1 with Silent sound....someone tagged the wires on the power tube socket for some reason.

4. zestystrat

zestystrat Member

I agree the previous owner replaced it.

My tech has it now and will go through it.

I did replace the speaker lol.

5. DaveKS

DaveKS Member