Cranked Tone at Bedroom Level (clip!)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by billybogner, Apr 21, 2008.

1. billybogner

billybogner Member

Hey guys, I don't post much here, but I put this up on some other sites and it was suggested to me that I put it up here.

I've never done one like this before, but I heard a couple guys do it and I thought it was cool. I'm on the left with 3 hacks backing me up on the right.

Disclaimer: The solo isn't note4note, but pretty close for 2 hours worth of work. [​IMG]

http://www.soundclick.com/util/getplayer.m3u?id=6477734&q=hi

Oh, forgot to mention that it was recorded at bedroom level. My wife was watching tv in the next room and said she could barely hear it...or, barely stand it. Something like that.

2. pickslide

pickslide Supporting Member

Very cool. What setup did you use?

3. Wayne

Wayne Member

Hey, that was a fun clip and I enjoyed your playing. Very nice tones for bedroom levels.

4. billybogner

billybogner Member

Thanks guys. The set up was:
    PRS SC > Duncan Pickup Booster > Mojave Peacemaker > Hotplate (set to load) > FX Return of a Mesa Studio.22 1x12 Combo

The boost was set about half way up, with the eq switch in the up position.
    All knobs on the PM on 10, except Bass on 5 and Bass Volume off. Low input. NO POWER DAMPENING.
    I used the line out of the PM into the fx return of the Mesa. Only the Presence and the Graphic EQ work when you use the fx return.
    Mesa has a V30.

The key (in addition to all that) was the eq on the Mesa and using 2 mics.
    On the eq, I dumped 2.2K, maxed 6.6K and the others were relatively flat.
    I put SM57 right above the dust cover of the speaker (should've moved that just a tad) and I put a Rode NT1000 behind the open back of the Mesa combo. That mic picked up a lot of bass and sizzle without having to turn the bass up too much. It kept the tone tighter in the low end.