crate palomino v32 - tube/speaker swap?

Discussion in 'Amps/Cabs Tech Corner: Amplifier, Cab & Speakers' started by xrpark, Feb 20, 2009.

1. xrpark

xrpark Member

Hi everyone,

I recently purchased my first tube amp, Crate palomino v32, and was considering speaker/tube swap. I do love the sound of this compared to my old SS amp, but the bass/treb sounds too harsh to my ears at higher volume. I have never worked with amps before, but I do have some experience with electronics. Can I get some recommendations for which speaker/tubes to get?

Thanks
    Ray

2. INX

INX Member

Hello Russian preamp tubes!

Get a Mullard 12AT7 from Mike at KCA for under $30 and fall in love with your guitar again...after you see what one tube in V1 can do.

:AOK

3. rockon1

rockon1 Member

The stock 70/80 isnt too bad but a speaker swap will make a big difference. Im using an old G12K-85 in mine. I also like the G12K-100 in it too.

Before you do anything though the amp has a lot of range in the tone controls depending on whether you have the presence in or not or mid boost in or not. Try dialing it in somewhat dull sounding at lower volumes and then crank it up. Im not quite sure what you mean by harsh bass though.

Not a big fan of the Mullard CV4024 (12AT7) though. Got a bunch of them and I dont hear what others seem to? Recently put a Tung Sol 12AY7 in mine in the V2. It lowers the gain slightly but its got more than enough tothrow some away. Seems to smooth it out a bit. Bob

4. xrpark

xrpark Member

Thanks for such quick replys! Right now, I don't use the boost button but I do have the presence button on. I set my gain around 4~5-ish so that I can still play clean sounds when I pick lightly and use my od pedal for more crunch.