Crate V32 OPT Primary Impedance?

Keg

I'm a tech working on a Crate V32 that has a bad output transformer. I can normally test the transformer to calculate the primary impedance, but with the output transformer being bad it's not going to help. Going by the tube data with two EL84s in parallel push pull, the primary should be 4k. It's possible though that they might have went a little higher. I hate to change the tone of the amp too much. If anyone knows the primary impedance of the original transformer please let me know. Or even a replacement transformer.

Thanks,

Kennyg

HotBluePlates

I'm a tech working on a Crate V32 ... Going by the tube data with two EL84s in parallel push pull, the primary should be 4k. ...
The Crate V32 schematic shows 4 output tubes, and I assume that's what you meant above as a Vox AC30 OT is typically a 4kΩ primary.

Crate's out of business, and buying an entire used V32 might only be $300-400. Grab a typical 4x EL84 OT from whoever and get the amp fixed.

... Crate V32 that has a bad output transformer. I can normally test the transformer to calculate the primary impedance, but with the output transformer being bad it's not going to help. ...
Bad how?

If there is a short or open in the primary, it probably affects one half-winding and not the other. Figure out which side is not way-wrong when you measure resistance from center-tap to EL84 plate lead. If the OT is still mounted in the amp, remove all output tubes. Apply some small voltage to the secondary and measure the voltage you get from center-tap to the plate-connection on the "good side" of the OT.

- At this point, you can go one of 2 ways:
1. Double the measured voltage, then calculate turns ratio and primary impedance as normal.
2. Calculate turns and impedance with the voltage measured; the actual plate-to-plate primary impedance will be 4x what you just calculated.​

gldtp99

I've used many of these Classic Tone 40-18006 OT's in many builds/replacements.