• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Daking FET Compressor - 1st impressions.

MichaelK

I want to preface this by saying I'm not an audio engineer by training. I'm a musican who's been playing, performing and teaching most of my life, but what little I know about audio engineering has been aquired by listening and paying attention... not formal education. OK, that said...

Now that I'm about to mix my own band's next CD, and knowing how a good hardware compressor can bring out a vocal track like no software emulation ever can, I decided it's about time I dug deep.

I've liked Daking preamps and compressors for years. The pre sounds wonderful on everything and the compressor doesn't lose airy high-highs (10k+) when attenuating, which I feel is critical when it comes to vocals. So I picked up a FET compressor and started experimenting.

All I can say is I had no idea how versatile and potent a tool it is, which I found out when I got into the different Release settings.