Damn I love playing drums

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by cantstoplt021, Mar 28, 2015.

1. cantstoplt021

cantstoplt021 Member

I've been playing drums for around 9 months now, but only the last 3 ish have been serious and I'm really starting to love them. Not that I'm good yet, but I'm past the basic coordination challenges and am able to play at blues jams and I also have my first gig in a week.

These things are a blast. It's nice to not worry about chords and scales and keys and soloing and all that stuff. You just sit and play the kit and try to add to the song and keep it going, a lot more to it I know. As a really rhythmically orientated person this could be the ideal instrument for me. It's starting to seem like I want to get really good at drums vs guitar. I've seen a bunch of good guitarists lately (Eric Krasno, Derek Trucks, John Mayer) and it's been the drummer that's stood out in all of those bands. At any rate I'm excited to get better and better. It'll certainly open up more gig opportunities for me in the future.

2. ejecta

ejecta Supporting Member

I got a set about a year ago and I'm having a blast. I started on drums younger than guitar but never gained then technique and experience I did on guitar. I've played more drums over the last year than I have guitar and ironically played more "live" guitar than I have in a long time.[​IMG] A decent form of exercise as well.

3. ieso

ieso Member

Me too. I always wanted a kit but only later in life did I have a situation where I felt like I could use it. I got a kit about 7 or 8 years ago, used it sporadically, but have since moved it into a new studio space and am taking a more systematic approach to learning rather than just chimpping around on like I have in the past.

4. Phil Harmoneeek

Phil Harmoneeek Member