Damn. Wish I had money to jump on one of these!

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by bluegrif, Dec 22, 2009.

1. bluegrif

bluegrif Member

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=370310028351&ssPageName=ADME:B:EF:US:1123#ht_500wt_1182

I've wanted an original for years. I owned a 60s Coronet that was stolen out of the band house back in the early 70s. Bought it on layaway, a few bucks at a time until I got it out. Never got to play it on stage. I should have bought another when they were affordable. Now the only ones that are even remotely affordable are the mid-60s models with the really skinny necks. A Wilshire'd be even better. I'm still pretty wary of Gibson's QC (yes, I've had some experiences. Even with Custom Shop stuff). But at this price I'd be willing to give it a shot with this one. Oh well, horrible timing.

2. MightyGuru

MightyGuru Member

Oh man, that's a cool guitar. Always wanted and Epi Wilshire.

3. bluegrif

bluegrif Member

Yeah, and they're $2900 at most dealers. I realize this auction has over 7 hours to go. But in this economy, it wouldn't surprise me a bit if it went for the starting bid or not much more. Or it not at all. I just keep reminding myself there'll be other opportunities.

4. scottlr

scottlr Member

We had a pawn shop here that had a 60s one for around $500 IIRC. It had some issues, but could have been put back to original pretty easily.

5. Jahn

Jahn Listens to Johnny Marr, plays like John Denver Supporting Member

i think that's the thing that's hurting this wilshire reissue - the vintage ones are around for that price, and there are tons of new cheaper ones called wilshire.

6. DZfishtech

DZfishtech Member