Danelectro DC3 / U3 wiring in series

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by PCN, Dec 12, 2011.

1. PCN

PCN Member

Hi guys!

I researched the wiring of DC3 / U3 on the net but didn't found much info, only the switch mechanism of the Select'o'Matic (here: http://music-electronics-forum.com/t14232/ )and that the pups are wired in paralel when this switch is activated. However I think that it's more cool to make it in series because all the Dano's with 2 pups that I know are wired in this way. So with this little information and my poor knowledge in electronics I developed a schematic for wiring them in series using this switch, only modifying the "Blow switch" from SPDT on/on to 3PDT on/on. In my efforts I discover that using 3 SPDT on/off it's way more easy to make it but I wanted to preserve the original appearance of the guitar. How I am no electronics expert all the wiring may be wrong, so in this case may someone with more electronics experience verify if my schematic is correct? I know that is a bit complicated but I tried to make it easier to understand. Any help will be very appreciated.

PS: I don't know the true value of tone cap, if anyone knows or has a DC3/U3 and check it I will be very greatful.

[​IMG]

2. walterw

walterw Gold Supporting Member

so every combo of two pickups is in series?

that's cool. series wiring tends towards mud on strats, but the brighter, thinner lipstick pickup might be just right for that. (i lurv the duncan dano pickups in my 2-pickup jerry jones, series middle setting and all.)

nice graphics on the diagram, by the way.

3. PCN

PCN Member

Thanks man!

Yes, when two pickups are selected they are in series and when the blow switch is activated the all three goes in series, however this diagram is not verified.
    Did you replace the Jerry Jones lipsticks by Seymour Duncans? If yes, how does they compare?

4. walterw

walterw Gold Supporting Member