Dave Grohl Reviews Led Zeppelin Mothership

Discussion in 'The Sound Hound Lounge' started by DWB1960, Dec 17, 2009.

1. DWB1960

DWB1960 Senior Member

Screw Lester Bangs. Dave Grohl truly "gets it":

“The first band I truly fell in love with were The Beatles, without a doubt. That was when I was about nine or 10 years old. Like a lot of people in bands even now, I studied their anthology. I had the songbook and I would play along with the records for hours; that’s how I learned to play guitar as well as learning about harmonies, melodies and structures. It was a really important starting point for my musical life, but by the time I was 12 or 13, that changed because I threw all those kind of records away and devoted myself to punk instead. Those are the rights of passage that most young music fans go through but Led Zeppelin were one of the bands that were always there — no matter what phase I was in. To me they were the greatest hard rock’n’roll band of all time. They literally represented it and, more than anything, they sounded fearless. Every member was so incredible that they each could have been a soloist in their own right, but when they played together it was a perfect combination. But being great players will only take you so far — the thing about Led Zeppelin was that they were untouchable as songwriters too. It wasn’t just music for musicians, it had a much broader appeal, and that’s what made them such a successful band.

There are so many different sides to these guys too. First up, you’ve got your staples: ‘Whole Lotta Love’ and ‘Communication Breakdown’ are the rock classics that everyone knows but there is so much more. Their virtuoso playing probably comes out best in songs like ‘Kashmir’.