DC on volume pot fix?

colinesquire

Hello gents. I recently picked up a 74 deluxe reverb and have been doing some upkeep. I've changed the problem caps & resistors but still getting DC cracking on both volumes. There is some stray voltage on the board itself. Does anyone know a quick fix to tame that down? Is there a cap or resistor I can add inline with the volumes?

I'm not ready to fully rebuild on new board but would like to keep quiet on the cheap for now. I'm a layman but can follow instruction well!

Thanks.

phsyconoodler

A) clean the controls with control cleaner
B) replace the treble capacitors.Usually 250pf/400v-630v

I've changed the problem caps & resistors but still getting DC cracking on both volumes
AND WHICH ONES WOULD THOSE BE EXACTLY?

colinesquire

Hi-thanks. Did both of those and no dice. I've read that the black fiber boards can attract moisture and eventually become conductive. I believe that is my issue as I'm getting voltage by measuring on the board.

Tone Meister

If your getting voltage on the board. I'd say you need a new board.
If it's actually the fiber board, you can remove excess moisture with a dehumidifier in a small room. There may be more elaborate suggestions, but I know from personal experience that it will work if it's indeed moisture absorbed by the fiber board.

Kyle B

Supporting Member
Are you sure there's actually DC on the pots and they're just not getting old and scratchy??? Did you measure this stray DC with a voltmeter???

Last edited:

colinesquire

Just to follow up that I solved it tonight. Replaced all the 25uf electrolytic caps and one or more must have been leaking. All quiet now!

zenas

Just to follow up that I solved it tonight. Replaced all the 25uf electrolytic caps and one or more must have been leaking. All quiet now!
In your OP you said you replaced all the problem caps. Those 25uf caps are problem caps so I though they were new.