• TGP is giving away a Strat, Tele, and Jazzmaster. Click Here for full details.
    Click Here to upgrade your account and enter today!

Dead strings out of the pack??

glaswerks

Have any of you ever run into the situation where you put on a new set of strings and they deader than a donut from the get-go?

I have this happen every once in a while and it JUST DRIVE ME NUTZ.... :).

MarkF786

I just got finished putting a set of Elixir Phosphor Bronze on my acoustic. I can't tell if they are dead or this is how the strings sound, since it's my first time using them. I'll give 'em a chance tomorrow to see how I feel about them.

Latif

I've never had a whole set be dead but did have a very dead low E Sadowsky polished roundwound last year. They sent me a new set right away and it had a dead A string. Turns out they got a bad batch from the factory. They made good right away each time. Great customer service at Sadowsky.

latif

EADGBE

Yes. They were just too old. Strings can lose their springiness after about 2-3 years just sitting on a shelf.

PanaDP

I like that ernie ball seals their packages now. It probably doesn't matter much where I live in southern california, but strings could easily tarnish after a month on the shelf in a humid climate when they're just packed in paper.

I just strung my Les Paul with a vacuum packed set of Gibson Historic strings. It's not exactly dead, but far from fresh sounding. A bit anaemic sounding and lacking in feel.

supergenius365

Silver Supporting Member
Only once with a set of Ernie Ball's many years ago. Certainly never with D'Addarios in the past 10 years.

Trebor Renkluaf

I was hit by a parked car, what's your excuse?
Gold Supporting Member
Yep. Strings can sit for a long time in a shop or an online warehouse. That's why I like D'Addario's corrosion resistant packaging. I buy a box and don't worry about them going dead.

musicman1