Dealing with students dropping out...

Discussion in 'Playing and Technique' started by JJK, Feb 26, 2008.

1. JJK

JJK Member

I have been teaching beginning guitar since September now, and have dealt with many students dropping out. They usually say they don't have time to practice and if its little kids, they say they can't push down on the strings hard enough and it hurts. Are there any techniques you use to get students to stick around and not drop out? I don't believe its because I'm a bad teacher or something, cause most people say I'm good, they just don't have the time to devote to it. Thanks for any responses.

2. Guitar Josh

Guitar Josh Resident Curmudgeon Silver Supporting Member

With young children, their attention wavers so much that it's hard to get them to concentrate. But think about this JJK. I would bet that when you picked up the guitar, you just sort of "got it". Within a month, you were probably playing most first position chords with ease, tuning your own guitar and starting to understand tab. That's a gift. Most people, young or old that have to really WORK at it will give it up quickly and veer back to things they are good at.

So just keep the door open for them. Talk to their parents and say that they should put the guitar in a safe place and see if they come back around to it, and you are happy to resume lessons.

But at the end of the day, if the check cashes, that's all you can really hope for.

3. dave s

dave s Member

Young kids under the age of 10 have a difficult time expressing themselves honestly. Most are there because their parents paid and they don't want to let down mom or dad. Or even you for that matter.