• The Gear Page Apparel & Merch Shop is Open!

Based on member demand, The Gear Page is pleased to announce that our Apparel Merch Shop is now open. The shop’s link is in the blue Navigation bar (on the right side), “Shop,” with t-shirts, hats, neck buffs, and stickers to start. Here’s the direct link: www.thegearpageshop.com

You’ll find exclusive high-quality apparel and merchandise; all items are ethical, sustainably produced, and we will be continuously sourcing and adding new choices. 

We can ship internationally. All shipping is at cost.

Delay & Reverb in Effects Loop, please advise!

sambodious

So I just got an amp with a good effects loop, I've never used an effects loop before. Amp is a Marshall 2555x.

I currently own a Boss DD-20 and Boss RV-5, and they live on my board, which is only set up to go into the front end of an amplifier. I stuck them in the loop and was quite impressed with the sound!

My question is this, are there any Delay & Reverb pedals that excel in the loop of an amp? I'd really like to not rewire my current pedalboard, but I'd like to do this effects loop thing up right. I know that the DD-20 has a system setting that can be changed from -10db to +4db, supposedly for use in a loop.

Previous great experiences with Boss pedals lead me to look at the DD-3 or DD-7, and maybe another RV series? Do these work well in a loop? Maybe I end up with an RV-2 or RV-3 and like it so much that the RV-5 gets delegated to FX Loop duties and the new pedal goes on my board.

Would an analog delay or a tape echo type unit be nice? I guess darker echoes work nicely behind an overdriven lead sound so they stay out of the way? I know lots of legendary players used Echoplex units, but mostly in front of the amp, right?

Please advise for small, affordable, simple effects boxes that work well in a loop!

Ugly Bunny