DELAY vs. ECHO

Discussion in 'Effects, Pedals, Strings & Things' started by blood5150, Mar 14, 2008.

1. blood5150

blood5150 Member

OK... so Ive been playing guitar for about 17 years now and have been on the quest for that ULTIMATE delay sound.... I have a DD-3, Ibanez DL-10, Maxon AD-999, Eventide Timefactor and an old Stage EC-100 tape echo....

Ive finally realised that what I am really looking for are ECHOES not REPEATS....

So on that note...I feel that I have 3 options at this point...

Fulltone TTE (the best, expensive)

Used Roland Space Echo (cheaper, but may need parts down the road, etc...)

Boss RE-20 Space Echo Pedal (cheapest, tap tempo, digital, maybe not warm sounding)

Obviously it would take me a while to save up for the TTE, but its the best right?

I like the idea of tap tempo on the RE-20 though...

Anyone have any feedback (no pun intended) for me on my delay-echo questions??????

2. mesfigas

mesfigas Member

3. carljoensson

carljoensson Member

TTE and an old Roland Echo is a lot more to carry if that matters? It sounds like you are looking for repeats that fade slowly, rather than digital crisp exact repeats - something misty and analog, right?

On www.thesegoto11.se (scroll down a bit) there is a demonstration of the Mad Professor Deep Blue Delay. For reference they also demonstrate the T-Rex Replica. Check it out! (Neither is analog, but sounds pretty much as if they were).

The TTE is (at least approximately?) a remake of a tube Echoplex, right? That not saying an Echoplex would be any cheaper. My old ROland RE-501 sounds great, especially in stereo. I also roll off treble on the repeats for more mist.

Don't know if this helps, at least it bumps your question back up/C

4. in a little row

in a little row Member

Consider Akai Headrush...very good tape echo sim with many output options, tap tempo, has a digital mode as well, and 23 sec looper mode...sounds great, built like a tank, and reasonably priced
    j

5. mrt

mrt Member