DeTemple Titanium Trem Block

Discussion in 'Luthier's Guitar & Bass Technical Discussion' started by fenderick, Jan 22, 2008.

1. fenderick

fenderick Member

I'm a vintage guy. I go for a traditional tone. I tried the Callaham block they sound good. Then I tried a DeTemple Titanium block. Now all my strats have Titanium trem blocks. I have been playing for over 30 years & touring since the early 80's. Don’t waste your time & money. Titanium is the only way to go.

2. Mike9

Mike9 Supporting Member

I have Titanium saddles on two Strats and they really lend to the ring of those guitars. I can't afford a DeTemple block, but KTS blocks are out there for less money. I've looked into Titanium bar stock to mill my own, but getting the right tooling is the trick.

3. kimock

kimock Member

On some guitars, STEEL SOUNDS BIGGER! but not all of them, so OK. . .
    Titanium is the only way to go for everything for everybody ?
    That dog don't hunt.

peace s
    k

4. Leonc

Leonc Wild Gear Hearder Gold Supporting Member

fendrick - Maybe it sounds great to you. It might sound great to me too. Yet I'm pretty sure that all of my favorite strat sounds on legendary recordings came from guitars that did NOT have Titanium blocks.

- Jimi albums from the 60s? no titanium blocks
    - Ritchie Blackmore from the 60s and 70s? no titanium blocks
    - SRV from 70s and 80s? no titanium blocks
    - David Gilmour? no titanium blocks
    - Rory Gallagher? no titanium blocks
    - Phillip Sayce? no titanium blocks

And these are just the first guys that come to mind. Can you point to one recording that was seriously enhanced by a strat with a titanium block? I mean...man, how much better is the music gonna get from a titanium block?

5. buddastrat

buddastrat Member

Got clips of both ways?

Maybe if you had more than 3 posts, you'd have more credibility on this. But this could be some spama-tanium type ad.

6. Giraffecaster

Giraffecaster Member