Did musicians just get fried all the time before three prong cords?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by plawren53202, Apr 14, 2016.

1. plawren53202

plawren53202 Member

So the deal with old amps with two prong cords is nearly universally known. I've made that mistake before as well...old two prong cord amp I had just gotten, bare feet and concrete basement equaled nice little zap.

Here's my question, though...I'm not old enough to remember the days when amps with two prong cords were standard. So were rockers just getting zapped all the time back then? Just had to be careful and make sure you did not become the ground (i.e., no bare feet and concrete)? What if the musician was playing electric guitar and accidentally touched lips to the mike? :eek: Or were things different back then such that two prong cords didn't pose such a threat?

I have very little knowledge of vintage amps and vintage playing rock n roll, and even less knowledge of electronics...

2. RussB

RussB low rent hobbyist Silver Supporting Member

It was a thrill when your lips touched the metal screen on the microphone and you got zapped! That opened your eyes!!

MHG, BEACHBUM, lemonman and 6 others like this.
  3. T Dizz

T Dizz Member

polarity switch!!

4. tele_player

tele_player Member

Yes, shocks were quite common.

5. teleman1

teleman1 Supporting Member

Get together with two or more people and you would get shocked. We would always quick touch each other or the mic to see if it were charged. Paid off knowing the quick touch when I started driving and would get arching light from my finger tips to the car.

H. Mac likes this.
  6. FFTT

FFTT Member

Outdoor shows when it started raining were always an adventure.

dsmc80 and smolder like this.
  7. GAT

GAT Gold Supporting Member