Digital Recording Advice

Discussion in 'Recording/Live Sound' started by clarkram, Jun 22, 2004.

1. clarkram

clarkram Member

I plan on picking up a compact digital recording studio workstation in the near future and I am looking for advice/feedback on:
    Korg D1200 mkII or the D1600

Boss BR 1600

Tascam 2488

I am looking for something that is user friendly with on board CDRW. These units seem to run 1,000 to 1,400. I do not want to go the PC route for recording.

Anyone have advice or experience with these types of units?

Clark

2. MickYoumans

MickYoumans Member

Clark, I was curious why you were shying away from PC recording?

3. clarkram

clarkram Member

Mick,
    I am basically computer illiterate. I have been a manager for over 20 years and a senior manager for the last 4 years, so I have always had subordinates to do whatever was necessary. I just had to review the outputs and make decisions.

It may be that I have to go the PC route and force myself to learn.

In either case I will have plenty of time to learn since I will be retiring in 9 weeks. HURRAY!!!!

Clark

BTW, while I don't have many computer skills I am very well versed in corporate tax law and that is how I survived in my work. Don't really need a computer to read a statute and determine how to administer it.

4. Rockin J

Rockin J Member

I'm with you on this one Clark. I have been thinking about the same units as you. I just want something simple that sounds good to record my playing. Some guy's have put up some clips around here with these type of units that sound great. Lou V comes to mind. He use's a little Boss and gets killer tones.

5. dash_doc

dash_doc Member

Clark,