DigiTech RP1000 vs. Zoom G5

Discussion in 'Digital & Modeling Gear' started by FenderGuy53, Jan 23, 2012.

1. FenderGuy53

FenderGuy53 Member

I'm new to the MFX game, so I need some unbiased input.

I want an MFX unit which: 1) can live happily either direct to a PA/mixer or in front of an amp, 2) can be used in a preset or stomp box mode and 3) has rich, realistic sounding od/distortion and timed effects.

The older DigiTech RP1000 and the new Zoom G5 can both be had for $300 NEW, so which offers the better value?

Being an avid hobbyist, I'd like to hold my expenditure to $300 or less, so are there any other worthy options to consider?

Thanks so much!

Last edited: Jan 23, 2012
  2. stratchamp57

stratchamp57 Member

IMO, I liked the g3 a lot better than my rp355(same tones and rp1000). The effects sounded better, the drives sounded better, and it just sat better in from of my amp than the rp did. IMO YMMV

3. Black Squirrel

Black Squirrel Silver Supporting Member Supporting Member

this!!! 100%

4. johnnyninja

johnnyninja Member

I'm disappointed in not having a non-ios update for the rp1000 and may go to another multi-fx. BUT....the switching options in the rp1000 are excellent. You have an amp loop and a stomp loop. There is a lot that can been done with these loops that the g3 can't do. As an example, I run my picovalve into a weber mini mass and use the line out to connect to the amp loop or the stomp loop on the RP, then go into a Tech21 PE 60. You could easily add a G3 to this setup and get the latest amp models while retaining the capabilities of the RP. I may do this, too. Just haven't decided yet.

Sorry, I had G3 on the brain...The above may apply to the G5, too. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

5. buddaman71

buddaman71 Student of Life Silver Supporting Member