DiMarzio DP103 (Neck) 36th Ann. PAF in Strat Bridge

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Adam79, Feb 14, 2020.

1. Adam79

Adam79 Member

Anyone try putting a DiMarzio 36th Anniversary Neck PAF in the Bridge position? I was thinking that the lower resistance, 7.3 instead of 8.6, would work better for low gain blues/rock.

Or trying an Alnico 2 magnet in one? I've heard the 36th PAF is kinda bright. The two might tame that a bit. In this case, do you think the DP223 (bridge version) might work better.

2. DonP

DonP Member

No, but I don't care for low gain blues/rock.

Do what you want. If it sucks you can always change it again.

3. singlecutarmy

singlecutarmy Member

I would lean toward PAF master for lower gain unless you want more clarity.

After hearing A/B of the two, the PAF master is brighter with a bit more grit.

The 36th is rounder and maybe a bit higher output, or just fatter.

I have a Master in my DBZ and I've got a 36th in the box I'm still waiting to put in to A/B myself.

Do you specifically want DiMarzio for the cream? Otherwise I'd say just go Seymour Duncan and get an A2

4. Adam79

Adam79 Member

No, I'm just having a hard time deciding what to get. It's hard to tell from those youtube vids cuz it's mostly all leads and high gain. From what I have been able to decipher, I like the 36 best, but it seems like it could be a bit bright for the bridge of a Strat. That's why I was thinking to use the neck version or try an A2. Or maybe the bridge and an A3.

5. gulliver

gulliver Supporting Member

I would not pay money to try that combo. Great vibe, but bright and the neck pickup will most likely be even brighter (I've only owned the bridge).

With recent experiments, I think you need to go with stronger magnets if using lower winds in the Bridge. I put a Fralin PAF modern neck in a bridge position. These have strong mags, so the low wind of the neck sounded fantastic and it is not too bright or peaky.