DiMarzio Super Distortion

Discussion in 'Guitars in General' started by Gallery, Mar 13, 2015.

1. Gallery

Gallery Supporting Member

Anyone using these who can share their opinion?

I'm planning to put it in a shredder type guitar which will mostly get played through a Marshall 2204 with lots of palm mutting for hard rock, metal and thrash.

2. darkinners

darkinners Member

I don't like them, I found them sounding too tight and too smooth. I personally like more raw and edgy sound.
    But I reckon they might sound great in a 2204 tho.

3. dazco

dazco Member

I'm not metal by any stretch. But i've been using them for the last 35 years and used them in the 70's too. IMHO they are not only the first aftermarket pickup ever made, at least that i know of, but they are my fav all time humbucker. Granted, they don't do a great clean humbucker sound, but they do if you split them. I love the split sound. Just be sure it's the neck side coil thats active ad you get a pretty single coil like tone that does cleans fantastic. In HB mode they work great for hi gain and the ability to get a cleaner but still crunchy lower gain sound as you roll back the volume. Overall i can get everything i need from the bridge position with a SD in it. They are the only pickup i have ever owned that I felt is the best of it's type period. I just love em. But i don't play any of the stuff you do, so take it for what it's worth. I do think it would work very well for that tho.

4. Timmo

Timmo Member

I have them in a few original DEANS.....they kick butt!!!
    Aggressive yet note separation.....

5. shane88

shane88 Member

they've been around since 1972 & as far as i'm concerned the go to pickup for what you want

6. Harvesterofsorrow

Harvesterofsorrow Member

One of the best pickups for metal of all kinds Imo. I use them and highly recommend them.

7. bigtone23

bigtone23 Member

Nothing wrong with that choice with that amp-it's well tested to work perfectly.

8. CPS

CPS Member