Dinosaur Jr fans - Which phaser on Without A Sound?

EXP

Supporting Member
Sounds lush and swirly I’d like to find this phaser. Read somewhere that J used a MXR Phase 100 on the track ‘’Seemed Like The Thing To Do’’ from Without A Sound. Does anybody know if J used the script or block logo version MXR Phase 100?

John Mark Painter

Silver Supporting Member
I'm not a Dino expert but think he always used an Electric Mistress

EDIT...I was thinking of a totally different song.

Last edited:

EXP

Supporting Member
While we’re on the subject of J’s gear - does he really use the Tubeworks Real Tube 901 as his always-on dirt live?

He said on the rig rundown that he runs the Marshalls/Hiwatt clean so I’m guessing his dirty tone is just the Real Tube 901 + Rams Head Big Muff or the Jerms Tonebender MKI. So am I to understand his dirty tone is mainly coming from the Real Tube 901? :eeks

EXP

Supporting Member
I'm not a Dino expert but think he always used an Electric Mistress

EDIT...I was thinking of a totally different song. Never mind...
That’s a flanger though. He uses the Electric Mistress for the more extreme jet airplane sounds.

While we’re on the subject of J’s gear - does he really use the Tubeworks Real Tube 901 as his always-on dirt live?

He said on the rig rundown that he runs the Marshalls/Hiwatt clean so I’m guessing his dirty tone is just the Real Tube 901 + Rams Head Big Muff or the Jerms Tonebender MKI. So am I to understand his dirty tone is mainly coming from the Real Tube 901? :eeks
Maybe he's contradicted himself in other rig rundowns, but the one's I've seen he says the Real Tube is his "clean" sound, as in Real Tube into fairly clean Marshalls/Hiwatts. The Big Muff with the volume turned down (via a gain pedal that just drops the gain) is his main dirty tone, and full volume Muff is his basic lead tone (sometimes he adds the tone bender into the Muff for more chaos). Pretty wild but it sounds cool!

Reactions: EXP

tonedover

This Is Fine.