Direct to PA question

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs' started by dshobe, Feb 5, 2015.

1. dshobe

dshobe Rocky Mountain Way Silver Supporting Member

I'm going to start playing a weekly gig soon. I'm really excited about it. The problem is that the gig is going to be straight to the PA. I have no experience with this situation. I'm not looking forward to what I assume will be lifeless tone.

I have several options, one of which is using my Effectrode Blackbird as the last in line running to the PA, however I'm worried that running delays and reverb into the Blackbird will muddy the tone up.

The other option I have is to use the line out on my Fender Concert II. I think this will work, but am not sure. Does anyone have experience using the line out from an amp to run to FOH?

2. JJCrowe

JJCrowe Member

you can get good results with any number of tech21 pedals, either the blonde or para DI or flyrig, they all will give you the clean fender tube amp vibe. put them at the end or near the end of the chain. it may be worth trying the line out on your amp, but does that defeat the speaker when you use it?

3. dshobe

I don't know, I guess I should go plug a cable into it, lol. I would think it would. I'm trying to get by for a bit without spending any money. I am planning on a Two Notes Torpedo CAB sometime this spring.

4. JJCrowe

JJCrowe Member

actually, that efectrode blackbird looks great, you should try that too. if you want the verb after the blackbird, can't you run the line out of the blackbird into the verb and then go to the board?

5. dshobe

I guess I could, I thought that the Blackbird should be last in line. It is great btw, I love it!

6. BadAssBill

BadAssBill southofnash.com Silver Supporting Member

I had to run through the PA a few times, it made me not want to play guitar. I hope your experience is better. Blues Jrs are perfect for small gigs.

7. dshobe